Ekadashi | Ekadashi Fasting Dates | Ekadashi Yearly Calendar

Ekadashi is the eleventh Tithi in lunar day of the shukla or krishna paksha of every lunar month in the Hindu calendar or Panchangam devoted to Lord Vishnu.

Ekadashi | Ekadashi Fasting Dates | Ekadashi Yearly Calendar

Ekadashi Fasting Dates Chennai, 2017
ekadashi
Day Start Date Start Time End Date End Time
Sunday 8-Jan-2017 07:51 9-Jan-2017 05:03
Sunday 22-Jan-2017 22:01 24-Jan-2017 00:22
Sunday 5-Feb-2017 18:32 7-Feb-2017 13:50
Tuesday 21-Feb-2017 18:44 22-Feb-2017 20:18
Wednesday 8-Mar-2017 00:21 8-Mar-2017 22:54
Thursday 23-Mar-2017 13:26 24-Mar-2017 13:52
Thursday 6-Apr-2017 09:21 7-Apr-2017 09:00
Saturday 22-Apr-2017 04:56 23-Apr-2017 04:05
Friday 5-May-2017 19:50 6-May-2017 20:35
Sunday 21-May-2017 16:42 22-May-2017 14:43
Sunday 4-Jun-2017 08:08 5-Jun-2017 09:47
Tuesday 20-Jun-2017 01:10 20-Jun-2017 22:26
Monday 3-Jul-2017 22:19 5-Jul-2017 00:32
Wednesday 19-Jul-2017 07:24 20-Jul-2017 04:27
Wednesday 2-Aug-2017 14:16 3-Aug-2017 16:39
Thursday 17-Aug-2017 12:44 18-Aug-2017 10:03
Friday 1-Sep-2017 07:37 2-Sep-2017 09:38
Friday 15-Sep-2017 18:33 16-Sep-2017 16:34
Sunday 1-Oct-2017 01:36 2-Oct-2017 02:44
Sunday 15-Oct-2017 02:07 16-Oct-2017 01:09
Monday 30-Oct-2017 19:00 31-Oct-2017 18:51
Monday 13-Nov-2017 12:30 14-Nov-2017 12:39
Wednesday 29-Nov-2017 10:47 30-Nov-2017 09:21
Wednesday 13-Dec-2017 02:12 14-Dec-2017 03:28
Friday 29-Dec-2017 00:14 29-Dec-2017 21:51
 

Ekadashi Fasting is dedicated to Lord Vishnu and is observed on the 11th day of waning and waxing phases of moon in a traditional Hindu calendar. This is one of the most popular Vrat/vratham observed in Hinduism.

In Hinduism it is considered spiritually beneficial day for fasting from sunrise on the day of Ekadashi to sunrise on the day following Ekadashi. Hindu devotee should eat only fruits, vegetables and milk products on this day .

Two Ekadashi occurs in one month according to positions of the moon or the Moon Phases.  During Vaikunta Ekadashi usually occurs during December-January month is considered very auspicious among other Ekadashi Tithi.

It is considered that the Sorga Vaasal will be opened at this Tithi. One will go to heaven directly. A devotees who observe Vaikunta Ekadashi fasting do not sleep on the day and that night.

They spend whole night at Vishnu temples or singing prayers or listening stories about Lord Vishnu. Fasting is completed on the next day (Dwadashi) after worshiping Lord Vishnu, Offer prayers by lighting a lamp and then you can break the fast.

The first fortnight between New Moon Day and Full Moon Day is called Shukla Paksha, the period of the brightening moon (waxing moon), and the second fortnight between New Moon Day and Full Moon Day of the month is called Krishna Paksha, or the period of the fading moon (waning moon).